Yesterday evening, my husband surprised me with beautiful flowers! Why? Just because.

It’s not the big things that mean the most, but the little things; the everyday acts of love and kindness in a marriage that really make the most impact on your heart.

I love being married and get really annoyed with those silly “marriage jokes” that the world and media degrade marriage with – you know those jokes – because being married to your best friend is the best thing ever! It’s a blessing; a gift.

Sometimes a random spoil with a cup of coffee or great big hug (or getting off your phone to have a proper conversation!) means the world in that moment. And one of the best ways to make the most of these moments is to learn your spouse’s
“love language”. These “languages” are explained in an awesome book by Gary Chapman called ‪‎The 5 Love Languages‬.

I encourage you to take some time in the next few days to discover the love languages that speak to you  and your spouse.
It’s also a fun activity to do together. Once you understand your spouse’s love language it can make the world of difference!

The five love languages‬ are:

  1. Words of affirmation
    This language uses words to affirm your love and appreciation.
  2. Acts of service
    For these people, sometimes actions speak louder than words.
  3. Receiving gifts
    For some people, what makes them feel most loved is to receive a gift.
  4. Quality time
    This language is all about giving the other person your undivided attention.
  5. Physical touch
    To this person, nothing speaks more deeply than loving affection.

Below is an awesome video that shows examples of each of the love languages. Enjoy! Invest in your relationship!

Do you have questions about Jesus or would like to know more? We would love to connect with you. Just click below to send us your questions!